NJPW “Wrestling Dontaku 2016”, 5/3/2016 Results

NJPW “Wrestling Dontaku 2016”, 5/3/2016 [Tue] 17:00 @ Fukuoka Kokusai Center
5,299 Spectators

(1) Captain New Japan & Juice Robinson vs. Bad Luck Fale & Yujiro Takahashi
◆Winner: Fale (2:26) following the Grenade on Captain.

(2) Tiger Mask IV, Ryusuke Taguchi, Jay White & David Finlay vs. Kazushi Sakuraba [FREE], YOSHI-HASHI, Will Ospreay, Gedo
◆Winner: Ospreay (7:23) via pin-fall on Finlay.

(3) IWGP Jr. Tag Championship Match: [46th Champions] Rocky Romero & Barreta vs. [Challengers] Ricochet & Matt Sydal

◆Winner: Ricochet (16:26) with a Shooting Star Press on Barreta.
~ Champions fall on their 1st title defense. Ricochet and Sydal become the 47th generation champions.

(4) NEVER 6 Man Tag Championship Match: [5th Champions] Michael Elgin, Hiroshi Tanahashi & Yoshitatsu vs. [Challengers] Kenny Omega, Matt & Nick Jackson

◆Winner: Omega (14:03) with the Katayoku no Tenshi (One-Winged Angel) on Yoshitatsu.
~ Champions fall on their 2nd title defense. The Elite become the 6th generation champions.
~ Omega proposed for the potential IWGP IC title defense against Tanahashi to be a ladder match.

(5) IWGP Tag Championship Match: [70th Champions] Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa vs. [Challengers] Togi Makabe & Tomoaki Honma

◆Winner: Tonga (12:12) following the Guerrilla Warfare on Honma.
~ 1st successful title defense.


New Japan then announced the wrestlers and blocks for the upcoming Best of the Super Jr. XXIII.

● “Time Splitter” KUSHIDA [2015 Winner]
● “Funky Weapon” Ryusuke Taguchi [2012 Winner]
● “The Martial Artist” Kyle O’Reilly
● “Reborn” Matt Sydal (debut)
● “Trickster of Darkness” Rocky Romero
● “Complete Fighter” Gedo
● “Mask de Bushido” BUSHI
● “Mr. Instant Replay” Matt Jackson

● “Beast god of the World” Jushin Thunder Liger [1994 / 2001 Winner]
● “4th generation Golden Tiger” Tiger Mask IV [2004 / 2005 Winner]
● “Killer Fighting Fish” Bobby Fish
● “One and Only Highflyer” Barreta
● “Slick Nick” Nick Jackson
● “The Future of Flight” Ricochet [2014 Winner]
● “Skywalker” Volador Jr. (debut)
● “The Aerial Assassin” Will Ospreay (debut)

This years league will be taking place from 5/21 at Korakuen and will run over the course of 14 days with the final on 6/7 in Sendai. The matches for each show will be announced soon.


(6) NEVER Openweight Championship Match: [10th Champion] Katsuyori Shibata vs. [Challenger] Yuji Nagata

◆Winner: Nagata (11:53) with a Backdrop Hold.
~ Champion falls on his 4th title defense. Nagata becomes the 11th generation champion.
~ Nagata received a strong reaction for the win as the 48 year old veteran still shows that he can compete at a top level.

(7) IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship Match: [73rd Champion] KUSHIDA vs. [Challenger] Jushin Thunder Liger

◆Winner: KUSHIDA (14:37) with the Hoverboard Lock.
~ 4th successful title defense.
~ Respect was shown between the two after the match, with Liger putting over KUSHIDA as the rightful champion.
~ KUSHIDA will now be heading into the BOSJ as the reigning champion. Liger also hinted that he would like one more challenge against KUSHIDA in the future.

(8) Special Single Match: Hirooki Goto vs. “KING OF DARKNESS” EVIL

◆Winner: EVIL (9:53) following the EVIL.

(9) Special Single Match: Kazuchika Okada vs. SANADA [SP.E.]

◆Winner: Okada (15:11) following the Rainmaker.

(10) IWGP Heavyweight Championship Match: [64th Champion] Tetsuya Naito vs. [Challenger] Tomohiro Ishii

◆Winner: Naito (30:33) following the Destino.
~ 1st successful title defense.
~ Okada challenged Naito after the match.
~ Naito once more provoked the owner, of New Japan (Kidani), after the match.