NJPW @njpwglobal “The New Beginning in Sapporo” 1/27/18 Results

NJPW “The New Beginning in Sapporo” 1/27/18 [Sat] 18:00 @ the Hokkaido Prefectural Sports Center Hokkai Kitayell

~ Satoshi Kojima is out with a ruptured ACL. He was replaced in the second match by Manabu Nakanishi.

(1) Katsuya Kitamura 7 Match Trial Series: Michael Elgin vs Katsuya Kitamura
Winner: Elgin (8:04) with the Elgin Bomb

(2) Hiroyoshi Tenzan, Manabu Nakanishi, Jushin “Thunder” Liger, Tiger Mask & KUSHIDA vs Takashi Iizuka, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Taichi, El Desperado & TAKA Michinoku
Winner: KUSHIDA (8:06) with the Hoverboard Lock on TAKA

(3) Tomohiro Ishii & Toru Yano vs Yujiro Takahashi & Chase Owens
Winner: Ishii (7:06) with the Vertical Drop Brainbuster on Owens

(4) NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Championship Match: [14th Champions] Bad Luck Fale, Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa vs [Challengers] Togi Makabe, Toa Henare & Ryusuke Taguchi
Winner: Tonga (9:15) with the Dreamcatcher on Henare
~ Tama Tonga debuts a new submission finisher to retain the titles.
~ 1st successful title defense

(5) Kota Ibushi, Juice Robinson & David Finlay vs Cody, Hangman Page & Marty Scurll
Winner: Page () with the Rite of Passage on Finlay

(6) YOSHI-HASHI & Will Ospreay vs Tetsuya Naito & Hiromu Takahashi
Winner: Naito (11:19) with a Jackknife hold on Ospreay
~ YOSHI-HASHI went on a rampage, attacking Naito and Hiromu after the match. But neither Naito nor Hiromu seemed to care after the fact, as both returned to the ring to briefly pose and celebrate their victory once YOSHI-HASHI had left.

(7) Kazuchika Okada, Hirooki Goto & Gedo vs SANADA, EVIL & BUSHI
Winner: Okada (11:52) with the Cobra Clutch on BUSHI
~ After the match Okada said no one cares why SANADA is in NJPW and LIJ, but people want to know how much he cares about being IWGP Heavyweight Champion. SANADA picked up the microphone, only to toss it aside and walk away. However, Okada chased him down and attacked him, then brought him back into the ring and choked him out with the Cobra Clutch.

(8) Jay White, YOH & SHO vs Kenny Omega, Matt Jackson & Nick Jackson
Winner: Omega (10:53) following an Indytaker on YOH
~ While The Elite celebrated, Jay White snuck behind Omega and laid him out with the Blade Runner.

(9) IWGP Intercontinental Championship Match: [16th Champion] Hiroshi Tanahashi vs [Challenger] Minoru Suzuki
Winner: Suzuki (32:28) via referee stop; Heel Hold
~ Champion falls on his 5th defense. Minoru Suzuki becomes the 17th champion.
~ Suzuki taunted Tanahashi as the former champion was being carried out on a stretcher, stating that he would never stand in the ring again.